Upgrading from the Legacy Storm Private Network

Posted on by Jerry Vasquez
Reading Time: 2 minutes
Note:
Please note that this article is considered legacy documentation.

The recently announced deprecation of the Legacy Storm Private Network has prompted several questions, the most frequent of which being: How to upgrade and am I affected? Fortunately this announcement only affects a handful of our thousands of clients, those being customers who started using the Private Networking back in 2013. If you’re not sure, you’re welcome to open a ticket and be certain.

Regarding the upgrade process, we’ve made that as easy as possible and accessible to anyone with access to the manage interface. This how-to will walk you through the steps you need to follow to get detach from the current implementation and get connected to the new, improved version.

Pre-Flight Checks

First thing to consider are the detach and reattach functions. Each function will force a reboot of your server instance.

Secondly, the detach functions need to be completed for every server instance before the network is ready for upgrade. This means you’ll have to detach every instance before you can attach to the new network.

Thirdly, once attached to the new network you’ll be assigned new IPs, so you’ll need to update any configurations appropriately.

It’s recommended that you have all your configurations in order and ready to upgrade ahead of time. Further, it’s recommended that this process is handled during a maintenance window as you’ll be momentarily losing your backend connectivity.

The Process:

Actual steps for upgrading:

  1. Log into manage.liquidweb.com for your account.
  2. Select Networking from the side bar
  3. From this page, select the Storm® Private Network tab
  4. Click “Detach” for every server attached to the network. A detach will need to be done for every server attached to the private network
  5. Ensure all servers are detached from the private network
  6. Now you can attach the desired servers to a private network again.

Done!

Once reattached, all the servers will have been allocated a new internal IP address, visible in the Storm® Private Network tab Interface. You can now configure your services to use this new IP address.

Once attached and configured, you’re done! There is no cleanup or extra changes that need to be made. As always, if you need any help or are unsure, please feel free to reach out to our team of Helpful Humans who would be happy to guide you through the process.

About the Author: Jerry Vasquez

A self-professed pirate captain with two decades of leadership experience, Jerry has led teams from 60+ cooks and chefs to 16 networking engineers. He brings those years of experience to his current role as Product Manager at Liquid Web, focusing on networking and security products. When not working or sleeping, Jerry can usually be found eating and having a good conversation with good people.

Have Some Questions?

Our Sales and Support teams are available 24 hours by phone or e-mail to assist.

1.800.580.4985
1.517.322.0434

Latest Articles

How Does Containerization Work?

Read Article

Microsoft Exchange Server Security Update

Read Article

How to Monitor Your Server in WHM

Read Article

How to Monitor Your Server in WHM

Read Article

How to Fix Typical WordPress Errors

Read Article